Español (CR)English (UK)

General Information of Costa Rica

Article Index

Political System

Since it is a democratic republic, its political system is divided into three branches:

The Executive Branch: The President of the Republic is elected by direct vote every four years and may not be re-elected. Two Vice-Presidents. A Presidential Cabinet made up of 18 state ministers who take on economic, social, productive, and cultural duties

The Legislative Branch: Made up of 57 deputies (popular representatives responsible for drafting laws)

The Judicial Branch: There is a Supreme Court with four Chambers. There are also Supreme Courts and regular courts for each area. As established by the Political Constitution of Costa Rica, the Supreme Court of Elections, which is independent from the other branches of the Republic, is in charge of organizing, managing, and overseeing the electoral processes that run their course every four years

Submit to DeliciousSubmit to DiggSubmit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to StumbleuponSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn

Contact info

TEL: (506) 2290-1921 -2290-1293

P.O. Box 963-1007

Sabana Norte 100 meters North and 25 meters east of Torre La Sabana.

Subscríbase a Nuestro Newsletter
Your Email

Invalid Input

Follow Us

facebook instagram Twitter Google Plus